Weekly Wrap Up: Week 17

July 6 – 12

Miles Hiked: 142 (Tandem) / 115 (Buzz)

  • Weekly Average:  18.6  miles/day
  • Total:  1644 (Tandem) / 1617 (Buzz)
  • Overall Average: 13.7
  • Zero Days: 0 / Total: 13

Money Spent: $298

  • Town Food/Lodging: $126
  • Trail Food: $109
  • Gear: $3
  • Postage: $60

Highlight of the Week

Jerry:  Camping in Dalton in a back yard and viewing of the Argentina vs Netherlands soccer game in the Shamrock Pub.

Bennett: I really enjoyed stopping at Upper Goose Pond Cabin. The lake was beautiful to watch from the dock, and the pancakes and coffee in the morning from the caretaker were a great treat.

Karen: Meeting a friend for lunch during the work week.

Lowlight of the Week

Jerry: Not having Tandem hiking around me.

Bennett: Though very happy I took a few days to hike by myself and do my own pace and plans, the second afternoon of hiking was challenging. My phone (with beloved podcasts) was dead, my feet (with my third blister of the trip) killed, and my resolve to make it 27 miles that day was waning. I found myself looking at a beautiful pond and realizing I had no one there to enjoy it or go swimming with.

Karen: Multiple trips to the post office because separate people need separate stuff sent to separate places at separate times with separate costs.

Memory of the Week

Jerry: Being at Upper Goose Pond Cabin and enjoying a swim in the pond. The dock, canoe, and sunfish reminded me of all of my summers at Lake Winnipesaukee. And pancakes!

Bennett: After hiking 32 miles (the furthest I’ve hiked with a pack!) of challenging terrain, I made it to my goal location: an old fire tower. From the 3800+ foot elevation tower I watched an absolutely gorgeous sunset and sunrise with a few other hikers. The Vermont landscape, colorful clear sky, and full bright moon were unbelievable and definitely made me happy that I had pushed on those last 10 miles.

Karen: Being very proud of Bennett for going out on her own and giving herself the opportunity to prove that she could.

Leave a Reply

