Last Day in Virginia (Sort Of)

from Bennett’s Blog:

Our stay at the historic home was lovely – Scott & Lisa are currently renovating the main building from the early 1800’s to be the bed & breakfast but for now used the small side Cabbin for visitors. Despite having taken a creepy but super cool tour of the unfinished house, we left the premises with no ghost sightings. After hiking 5 miles we came upon the first shelter, one of the nicest we’d seen so far. It included a pavilion and solar showers, so we were a little sad to continue on. The 5.5 miles to the second shelter was slow going, so I took a break once I arrived to eat my lunch. The third shelter came up much quicker, but by then my feet were yelling at me. I sat down with a bag of trail mix and never wanted to get up. No matter how used to hiking my body is it’s still exhausting.

Read more…

Leave a Reply

